GV theatre awards tonight

By John Lewis

The Goulburn Valley’s annual awards for theatre excellence take place at Mooroopna’s WestSide Performing Arts Centre tonight. Individual and theatre group nominees are up for awards in more than 30 categories including singing, acting, support roles, direction, musical direction, lighting, choreography and wardrobe and artistic design.

The 45th Georgy Awards now include nominees from across the Goulburn Valley and beyond, including Wangaratta and Albury.

Junior awards for performers in school and youth theatre productions from across the region will also take place tonight.

Among the senior nominees are:

Wade Gregory — for musical direction in Shepparton Theatre Arts Group’s production of Dookie The Musical;

Brian and Sharon Davis for musical direction in STAG’s production of Wicked; and Dani Goudie for choreography in Wicked;

Tricia Deakin for lighting design in Echuca Moama Theatre Company’s production of The Phantom of the Opera;

Paul Walker and Carl Monshing for set design in the Wangaratta Players’ production of The Winslow Boy;

Deb Miles for Numurkah Singers’ production of Anne of Green Gables;

Sam Birrell for best performance in a play in STAG’s Orson Welles and the Mercury Theatre;

Drew Walker for best performance in a musical (female) and best singing (female) in STAG’s Wicked.

Junior nominees include:

Alex Garla for best junior performance (male) as Jesus in Notre Dame College’s Godspell;

Aleisha Corrigan for best performance in a senior school play in Notre Dame College’s Ruby Moon;

Nathan Lon Ho Kee for best junior supporting performance (male) in Goulburn Valley Grammar School’s High School Musical.

The 45th annual Georgy Awards sponsored by GMCU will be presented at WestSide PAC from 7pm tonight.

Tickets are $30, concession $25 available at www.riverlinks.greatershepparton.com.au